Thu 20 Jul 2023, 14:33 · NUFCFEED

How many Newcastle players have played in a World Cup?

How many Newcastle players have played in a World Cup?
Share Tweet

Newcastle United had six players at the 2022 World Cup, with Kieran Trippier and Callum Wilson seeing pitch time for England and Nick Pope being a part of Gareth Southgate's squad. Bruno Guimarães also featured for Brazil, Fabian Schär represented Switzerland, and Garang Kuol caught the eye for Australia.

While no Magpie has ever lifted the famous trophy, plenty of Newcastle United players have now represented their country on the biggest stage of them all. Club icon George Robledo blazed the trail all the way back in 1950 when he started for Chile in a 2-0 loss to England in the Maracanã. Jackie Milburn was an unused substitute for Walter Winterbottom's Three Lions that day.


How many Newcastle players have actually played in a World Cup?

All-in-all, 33 Newcastle players have now been part of a squad at the World Cup, with David McReery of Northern Ireland featuring twice. Only 30 players have made it onto the pitch, though, with Andy O'Brien (2002), Jean Alain Boumsong (2006), and Nick Pope (2022) all being unused substitutes throughout.

Our club's history in the competition goes all the way back to 1950 when George Robledo took to the pitch for Chile in a 2-0 loss to Walter Winterbottom's England in the first game of group two.

Jackie Milburn was an unused substitute that day, but he did see some action in a 1-0 loss to Spain a week later as England exited the competition having been infamously beaten by the United States a few days prior.


Here's a complete overview of the Newcastle players to have played in a World Cup, from 1930 through to 2022:

1950Brazil2 – Jackie Milburn (England), George Robledo (Chile)
1954Switzerland1 – Ivor Broadis (England)
1958Sweden3 – Tommy Casey (Northern Ireland), Dick Keith (Northern Ireland), Alf McMichael (Northern Ireland)
1974West Germany0
1982Spain1 – David McReery (Northern Ireland)
1986Mexico3 – Peter Beardsley (England), David McReery (Northern Ireland), Ian Stewart (Northern Ireland)
1990Italy1 – Roy Aitken (Scotland)
1998France3 – David Batty (England), Rob Lee (England), Alan Shearer (England)
2002Japan & South Korea3 – Kieron Dyer (England), Shay Given (Republic of Ireland), Andy O'Brien (Republic of Ireland)
2006Germany3 – Jean Alain Boumsong (France), Craig Moore (Australia), Michael Owen (England)
2010South Africa1 – Jonás Gutiérrez (Argentina)
2014Brazil6 – Shola Ameobi (Nigeria), Mathieu Debuchy (France), Tim Krul (Netherlands), Loïc Rémy (France), Moussa Sissoko (France), Cheick Tioté (Ivory Coast)
2018Russia1 – Aleksandar Mitrović
2022Qatar6 – Bruno Guimarães (Brazil), Garang Kuol (Australia), Nick Pope (England), Fabian Schär (Switzerland), Kieran Trippier (England), Callum Wilson (England)

With the way the club is going at the moment, we might even see the record of six call-ups (2014 & 2022) broken in North America at the 2026 World Cup!